Posted by: comfortjunkie | July 31, 2008

The Best Advertising Campaign Ever

Here’s some scary insight into my brain.

I was lying in bed last night thinking about a special event that I have to plan for a few weeks from now. I was thinking about an auction. This led me to think about my friend who owns a swimwear store and who mentioned that she was going to donate some of the swimsuits that weren’t selling to make room for some awesome new ones. This made me consider whether bathing suits would do well at auction (they wouldn’t), which made me think that she should screenprint her logo all over them before she donates them so whoever ends up wearing them will at least be giving her free advertising.

This thought led to a memory of when I worked in the corporate regional offices of Subway and found giant boxes filled with t-shirts that said, “HI Fred!” The “Hi Fred” t-shirts were used for some race or walk or something and were a shout out to the owner of Subway, one very wealthy Fred Deluca. I asked why we had these giant boxes of t-shirts and they told me because they didn’t want to give them to Goodwill or a shelter or anything because they didn’t want homeless people and tweakers wandering around giving a shout out to good, old Fred.

This made me think that I would like nothing more than an army of homeless people wearing my logo on a t-shirt. In fact, it’s a completely genius campaign… check it out:

Run off 1,000-2,000 t-shirts and donate them to every homeless shelter you can find. You have to make them wearable and maybe even long sleeve, depending on your climate.

Now once you’ve dressed the masses, you just wait because this is what will happen. Some guy on his way to work is going to see a homeless person in your shirt and not think anything of it. But later when he sees two or three homeless people wearing the same shirt, he’s going start thinking, “I wonder why those homeless people are wearing that shirt,” and try to get a better look. He will then go about his business.

The next time he sees a homeless person wearing your shirt, he’s going to start wondering about it even more. He might even be pondering it at work or home when he’s spaced out not really doing anything. Then on the way to work again, he sees more people wearing that shirt. This time he goes into work and starts asking his co-workers, “hey did you see those homeless people? They’re all wearing the same “xyz company” shirt.” Then they will make jokes about lay-offs and whatever… but the point is that they are discussing your company and have imprinted your brand. Because it was such a weird incident, it will really stick too, so when it comes time to purchase a product or service that you offer, who is going to come to mind immediately??? Bingo.

Man, I totally don’t get paid enough for this level of genius.

Responses

  1. Hi I just read your blog The best advertising camapaign ever and you said you worked at headquarters way back when I was wondering if I knew you. i worked there from 1999 to 2002

  2. I worked with HQ, not at HQ – I was in a regional office 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

