Posted by: comfortjunkie | August 3, 2008

Harold and Kumar and Severed Heads

What a lazy Sunday! I spent the morning lazing around and then got serious in the endeavor by liberally applying sunscreen and heading to the roof top for some sunbathing and reading. When I could take the heat no more, I took an icy cold shower and followed these two taxing activities with a solid lunch/nap combo.

During my mid-afternoon lunch but before the nap, I attempted to watch Harold and Kumar Escape from Guantanamo Bay. Why? Because the original H&K was not only funny but has my nomination for the best cameo ever for Neil Patrick Harris doing blow off of a stripper in a jacked car. It was a little out there but there was some subtlety in the first one. The second one sucked so badly that I actually turned it off. I can count the number of suckfests I’ve turned off on one hand. I have some serious bad movie perseverance. I was tricked into and sat through TWO feature films where the lead actor was a WRESTLER (both times I thought the movie was starring either Matt Damon or Mark Wahlberg or some Matt/Mark hybrid). Anyway, it sucked even more than either of those.

A friend sent me an article about a man in Greece who cut his girlfriend’s head off (don’t ask) and upon reading it, I found these to be my favorite lines, “Initially, Arvanitis roamed the village of Vourvoulos exhibiting Karkali’s head, neighbors said. Townspeople said they locked themselves in their homes and called the police.”

I like it for several reasons. The first line states that he was INITIALLY he was exhibiting his girlfriend’s head, which makes me think that at some point he thought better of this plan and did something else with it (he did, he threw it into a police car at a policeman). It also says that he was exhibiting the head, which makes me envision him maybe holding it out and shaking it people, or perhaps calmly holding the hand so people could see it better… OR maybe he was holding the head shaking at people out of anger as if to say, “hey, this is what will happen to you if you ask me to pick up my dirty underwear off of the bathroom floor.”

Finally, the second line leads me to believe that someone asked the townspeople, “OMG, so what did you do?” to which the townpeople replied, “WTF do you think we did? We hid in the house and locked the damn doors then called the police. What would you have done, gone in for a closer look?” I mean there are only so many choices when facing someone with a severed head. You can’t save the head, so you might as well hide and call the cops. No sense in confronting the man. Sheesh.

Now all you people who got here by googling “deformed animals,” you Creepy McCreepertons, have a bonus severed head post.

Responses

  1. I don’t think the second movie was completely terrible. There were some things that made me laugh out loud. You are correct in saying that it was no where near the first one.

    Put a link to that article. My morbid curiosity is getting the better of me.

  2. And proof once again my taste in movies is at best reprehensible- I LOVED harold and Kumar 2 waaay more than the other one 😛


Leave a Reply

Categories

