Posted by: comfortjunkie | August 16, 2008

I’m outta here.

I’m leaving this morning for a road trip so you won’t have me to push around anymore (until tomorrow night). Will I get held up by banditos? Detained by federales? Attacked by chupacabra? It’s anyone’s guess, but I suggest you stay on this page and hit refresh over and over and over again until I get back and you find out.

So a little more about what happened yesterday (because it’s kind of mystical, it really is). You know how I said that the night before I was lying in my bed of self-pity thinking about various depressing things? Well, I know this isn’t healthy OR productive so when I go done with wallowing, I spent some time visualizing opening the email that said my book proposal was accepted and that I would be the next author of this guidebook for my area. I didn’t think it was likely, but I really wanted this to happen yesterday because the wait was killing me, so I pictured it over and over again.

Seeing the email from the editor in the in-box. Clicking it. Reading about how mine was chosen and then the delight and excitement I would feel. Then I feel asleep. The next morning I didn’t want to get out of bed but there were kittens and dogs wrassling all over my bed so I took a little extra time and I visualized it again. During my no-good, very bad day, I said a little prayer asking that I please, please get this good news because my day was total shit and I really needed it.

Lo and behold when I walked in the door, there was the email and it was exactly has I had pictured it. So you see, there really is something to this creative visualization shit.

The other thing is I have an ex, a good friend of mine who has helped me a lot with my various projects, editing things for me for free and giving me good, honest feedback about my work. This person has written two very good books that aren’t published. This makes it even nicer that he takes the time with me because if I were him, I would be absolutely sticking pins into a voodoo doll to stop me from getting published first even though we are totally different areas (he’s fiction, I’m non). I feel badly for him but he doesn’t believe any of my mumjo-jumbo positive thinking crap which I personally believe would change his life and get him published.

The only reason that I will be published (for either the guidebook or my own reference book) is because I took this crazy leap of faith, sold all my shit and moved to a country where I didn’t know a single person or speak the language all by myself. If I hadn’t done that, I would (at best) be working some office job up North, freezing my ass of, living in an apartment with my dogs because my house would have been foreclosed on, and probably on very high doses of antidepressants. I probably wouldn’t be any better off than I was before I got here. It’s certainly a case of right place, right time. The moral of the story is that sometimes you have to go big and go crazy to get shit done.

Not to get all corny and sappy on you, but my life is AMAZING. And this is just the beginning. I’ve got some very big stuff brewing, but it’s too early to dish, so stay tuned.

I’ll be back tomorrow night with some awesome pictures of wacky things.

Responses

  1. As you can probably tell, I am AMAZINGLY JEALOUS of your life. I love my husband , I like my house fine, and my job is pretty great, but I HATE where I live. HATE IT. I think I spent 2.5 hours already today hating it.
    Good for you for having the balls to do what the rest of us keep finding excuses to not do.
    You ARE awesome.


Leave a Reply

Categories

