Posted by: comfortjunkie | August 18, 2008

I’m Baaack… Miss Me?

Yes, I know it was a devastating 36 hours without me but I am here for you now.

Because I was driving and we didn’t stop for photos, I cannot show you the absolutely incredible landscape between here and our destination. The emerald jungles, the sweeping plains, an incredible lake, the quaint little towns with their churches and squares and best of all, the volcano with cascading piles of volcanic rock that covers what seems like miles of land. I am going to find a way to stop and take photos on the next trip.

As cute as the city was that we stay in, it did remind me to be grateful for where I live now. I don’t think I’m ready to go back to any type of urban living. The traffic, graffiti, the lack of mountains and ocean. Nope, I’m in the right place, for sure. The hotel was super cute. Our room was right next to the pool. Here is the pool and the sitting area that was just outside of our room.

There was no time for swimming.

There was no time for swimming.

Or for sitting around

Or for sitting around

We went for our complimentary cocktail and then headed out to see the sights and squeeze in a little shopping before the stores closed. There was exactly one thing that I couldn’t live without and it wasn’t for sale.

Not for Sale

Not for Sale

But this guy seems to think if I wait a little bit and come back with enough money, that I might be able to convince the store owners otherwise.

Uno momento, por favor.

Uno momento, por favor.

In one store we saw this piece, which is a dazzling display of craftsmanship. In the center is Adam and Eve and then different biblical scenes are in other little sections around the piece.

I don't even have the patience to paint my fingernails.

Click me to make me bigger.

Click me to make me bigger.

After doing a little shopping, it was off to the square for some street food. I’m not sure who designed this statue but it does not look very wholesome.

Children, avert your eyes.

Children, avert your eyes.

We ate the most tasty little pancake/bread things and looked around in the few shops that were still open before heading back to the hotel.

Put this above your bed. Sweet dreams.

Put this above your bed. Sweet dreams.

Check out this sweet ass bathroom next to the soap store…

The next day we went to another town where everything is cheap and the streets are lined with vendors selling everything you could ever, ever want. Especially if you want big, ugly frogs; frogs playing the flute, frogs shooting pool, frogs with buckets of gold coin fountains. Sorry, I didn’t take any pictures of the frogs.

Instead I took pictures of the glass blowers. The factory is next to their seconds shop. You can buy the stuff that isn’t perfect enough for full price for like $1. I bought some cute bright green bowls and some swirly glass orbs that I am going to fill with white sand and shells.

It started like this.

It started like this.

And then suddenly it was this.

And then suddenly it was this.

You can buy those vases for $8.

Of course, I did not get paid before the trip so I couldn’t buy half of the things I really wanted, but I did get one thing that I love, love, love.

Note the scary mask for my mask wall as well. I also bought some cute magnets, a ceramic fish and seahorse, a few presents for people and the most amazing kitchen tool in the universe.

I sat and listened to the whole presentation (entirely in Spanish) as the man slices and diced and twirled every conceivable vegetable. But it works like this:

You stick the metal skewer through your vegetable (let’s say, a potato). You insert this little spring into the other side of the vegetable (onto the point of the skewer) and then you put your finger in the finger hole and rotate this blade through the potato. This results in a potato SLINKY! Yes, you can make slinky vegetables; carrots, cucumbers, anything! It also came with another sprint that you slip over the blade of your knife. This allows you to make the thinnest slices of anything or to peel anything without cutting your fingers off. With a few nicks here and slices there, you can turn your slinky vegetables into stars or flowers or hearts. It’s amazing and yes, a pictorial will be shown later today or tomorrow after I slinkize my cucumbers and carrots.

Responses

  1. I have actually seen a tool like that one before- we used one in my restaurant all the time until we broke it.
    😦
    Sounds like a very lovely little trip.


Leave a Reply

Categories

