Posted by: comfortjunkie | August 21, 2008

Damages

I don’t blindly believe the hype when it comes to awards for movies and TV. I’ve never seen most of the Oscar winning films because they look boring as shit and its always a period drama that wins, a genre that I hate more than I hate Tom Cruise. That said, when I read about Damages, I thought I’d give it a go ’round but I never expected to become a seething addict overnight. OMFG, it is SO SO SO good.

I watched the first three episodes last night because I couldn’t stop myself. It took all of my willpower not to press on to #4.

In case you have no idea what I’m talking about, Damages is a show on FX, starring Glenn Close and Ted Danson as two bad people. Ted Danson is bad, then he gets worse as a human being. Glenn Close starts out evil and elevates herself to Satanic-proportions almost immediately. It’s fantastic, even more so because she has Martha Stewart’s haircut and we all know how evil she is.

The pilot opens with the main character, a young woman, in an elevator covered with blood. Quite obviously, she gets picked up by the police. From this point, the story is told through flashbacks starting six months ago and scenes from the present, as they try to find out who she is and why she’s covered in blood (and who’s blood that might be). It’s twisty and turny and twisted and brilliant because we soon find out that Ellen (the bloody woman) is an up and coming lawyer who just took a position at Glenn Closes’ firm. It’s the pacing of a Jeffery Deaver novel with the legal suspense and twists of a Grisham book. Ahhhh…. I must pace myself so I don’t watch the whole thing at once and have to wait until I can get the next season. Seriously you guys, find it, watch it.

On a totally unrelated note, is there any more frightening sound than glass breaking in a room where you are not? This morning Apollo broke the only lid I have for my saucepan and small frying pan. Of course, with 11,000 animals in the house, they all had to walk through the broken glass, bat at the shards and generally be horrible while I was racing around barefoot in broken glass trying to corral the whole lot of them outside so I wouldn’t have to pay for vet bills. No there is no lid and the glass, of course, shattered all over the kitchen floor and beyond. It was 8:45 and already I was on my last nerve. This does not bode well for my client meeting later.

Leave a Reply

Categories

