Posted by: comfortjunkie | August 28, 2008

A quote for WM and the rest of us who need a pick me up.

I was cleaning out my bookmarks (can you tell I’m supposed to be working?) and I came across this site that I bookmarked during the dark, dark days when my business had failed, my rent was due, my bank account was empty, I was completely alone in a foreign country without a single friend to lean on, and I decided that if I didn’t put myself out there and find someway to support myself through writing, I was destined to move home and kill myself slowly in a veal pen in a cubicle farm, wishing every day for the apocalypse. On the days I really needed someone to give me some advice or even just tell me that everything would be okay, and there was no one there, I would pop into this site, read the selected quote and quite often, feel better.

Here’s today’s quote:

“Only those who dare to fail greatly can ever achieve greatly.” — Robert Francis Kennedy

I don’t know about you, but I have failed spectacularly. Truly epic, awe inspiring failures, oftentimes leading to the conclusion that my life will never be more than a cautionary tale to others or perhaps some tragic footnote in a story about why you should always do the exact opposite of whatever I think is clever at the time. So go big or go home, as I always say, even with your failures because who wants to live a small life?

Leave a Reply

Categories

