Posted by: comfortjunkie | September 22, 2008

The best burrito ever.

So yesterday we (my brother and I) met some friends for waffles at the new waffle place in town. It was a long wait (too long) but at least the prices were reasonable and the portions were huge. Unfortunately, my waffle had a weird aftertaste so I didn’t enjoy that as much as I had hoped. From there we headed off to the beach where I took those photos below. The spider is blurry (still trying to figure out the macro setting on my new camera). Nothing remarkable about the beach other than the river flows right into the bay there and so the water was both hot and cold. It was very strange to be swimming and have my shoulders and right arm be freezing while my torso and left leg were super warm and then my right foot was cold but my right leg was warm. Even stranger was when I accidentally took in a mouthful of water and it wasn’t salty but fresh water.

We headed to the zoo but turned back because it was going to start raining (headed back today) and there had been a landslide. I didn’t want to get stuck out there. On the way home we stopped for food even though my breakfast was still being processed and I wasn’t really hungry. We went for the highly recommended “roblado” burrito. That is…giant flour tortilla, stuffed with lettuce, tomato, onion, crack sauce, marlin and shrimp. It was insanely good. BUT since it was right next door to a taco place rumored to have the best tacos in town, we took our burrito (which we were splitting, thank god) next door and got four tacos too. After rolling back to the car (think Violet from Charlie & the Chocolate Factory), we came home and vegged in front of the TV.

Today we are headed back to the zoo and perhaps to the ziplines, maybe another beach and then it’s dinner and walking the boardwalk for the evening. Hopefully it won’t be raining too hard. Here’s a picture of the taco place. The waiter insisted in being in the photo and I didn’t have the heart to tell him I was specifically taking a picture of the succulent meat for you guys.

Mmm. BBQ Pork and Pineapple!

Mmm. BBQ Pork and Pineapple!

Leave a Reply

Categories

