Posted by: comfortjunkie | October 9, 2008

Unchained

I had to remove the shackles that were tying me down to the computer yesterday and go out for a little while. There are only so many days in a row I can be at the computer for 12 hours. I went over to A’s house to visit him and L, got in the pool for a little while and generally just had some conversation for a while. I’m excited because A is having a party on Halloween and it will be populated by any number of eccentric and insane artists of all genres. Hear that, Achmed? Bring your party pants!

L is taking kickboxing at a dojo near my house and although I’m terrified of passing out in the first class, I think next week I will join her to see if I like it. I generally despise anything cardio but from her description of the catharsis felt from punching and kicking things and hitting people with your elbow, it might be right up my aggressive alley. I might as well try to get that anger out constructively.

L also does nude modeling for a local painting class and since I’m trying to find a good art class, I’ve asked her to report back on pricing for me. I might end up asking A to give me a few lessons what with him being a world famous sculptor and all, but I’m actually more interest in drawing, an area where I’ve always done well.

I have errands to run for clients today, checking on permits and gathering up menus for an event that needs catering, then the meeting and then dinner with a client and woman she wishes to introduce me to, more social and less business. We are going to the hotel where my other friend is playing music. How I will handle two days of social interaction in a row, I do not know.

Last night the publisher of one of the new magazines I’ve been writing for sent the PDF of the magazine, a preview before it gets digitized. I’ve got three articles in the premiere edition and I have to say, seeing my byline never gets old. The magazine is beautiful too, stunning.

I know I spouted off a bunch of stuff about writing a book a month awhile back, (that was one of my spaghetti ideas and it didn’t end up sticking to the wall), but I am actually participating in National Novel Writing Month in November. I’ve been working on outlining my novel in Dramatica Pro and will begin writing on November 1. The goal is to complete a 50,000 word novel by the end of the month and since I love deadlines (the great motivators), I think that it’s a perfect opportunity for me to bang out a draft. If you’ve ever thought about writing a novel, you should play along. I’d like some company since my area is not represented and I can’t set a home region. I’m all alone; the story of my life. I completely realize that this means I have to write 1,666 words per day in order to beat the deadline all while traveling, writing another book, managing clients, working on several freelance articles I’ve committed myself to, etc…stay tuned for my brain exploding about halfway through the month.

Responses

  1. I’ve recently been forced to take a break from a murderous bout of writing (9 days off in the past year, including weekends) because of a nasty lung virus that was exacerbated by overwork. Time to do something about my one-dimensional life. But this regimen also explains why I view events like “National Novel Writing Month” with such disdain. Writers write, regardless of the month or circumstances. It’s as vital as breathing, no excuses countenanced. NaNoWriMo is (largely) for hobbyists and wannabes, people playing at writing. I suggest they take up knitting or scrapbooking instead…

  2. Considering the number of published authors who have participated in NaNoNriMo, there seems to be a number of successful wannabes.


Leave a Reply

Categories

