Posted by: comfortjunkie | October 10, 2008

Splish Splash

Last night I headed out to see some friend’s play music at just about the time the rain started. By the time I reached the main road, the streets were all flooded. Once I reached the parking lot, I was really glad that I keep umbrellas in my car and used one for the first time since I put them in two years ago. It was raining that hard.

After getting lost and then turned around and finding the bar, I was there for about 20 minutes when the power went out plunging the entire city into darkness. It wasn’t bad except that it was HOT inside. They lit candles and eventually the generators came on and later the power.

Of course, as I always do, I left my windows open at home and so everything in my living room was SOAKED. The sofas, the rug, whatever mysterious papers I left on the coffee table and are now smeared ink. There was a huge puddle in the middle of the floor. I had to leave all of the fans on high all night and today to dry everything out.

Now I see that we are between a tropical storm and a hurricane, so it is possible that there will be big wind and rains over the next couple of days. The power hardly ever goes out at my house, in fact, it hasn’t even once this year so I’m not too worried about it. I have lots of candles, food, bottled water and imaginary friends to keep me company.

Leave a Reply

Categories

