Posted by: comfortjunkie | October 25, 2008

I’m going back to bed

after I finish this post. I only got up to eat something.

Yesterday was a great day. I got paid and it was overcast, which meant that I could work. I headed out to check out hotels and restaurants. I ate at a great place that I was going to go to dinner at that night but instead opted for lunch (and ordering off the dinner menu). I had some panela cheese with pumpkin seeds and a sweet-sour jalapeno sauce and a vegetable tamale in poblano sauce. Delicious. Did I mention the GIANT happy hour mojito? Or the fact that the whole meal ended up being free? Bliss.

I also stopped by the cigar store to research how to tell fake Cuban from a real Cuban cigar for the book and maybe an article. I ended up spending over an hour there learning so much about cigars. I even bought a Cohiba cigar to celebrate with later.

The view from the rooftop pool.

The view from the rooftop pool.

After work, I went home to change my clothes and head back downtown (I can do this because I have money for gas now!) to meet my friend who was going to play some music at the health festival.

I got a massage for $200 pesos and then took pictures while she did some fire dancing to show her mother who was here from France and leaving today.

Unfortunately, I let my camera get passed around last night and the best picture got deleted but here’s the second best.

After the dancing we went to this magical place, a place where the women drink for free all night. I had to have this explained to me several times. All night? Anything I want? Free? No bill? Really?

My French Friend

Yes, it’s true. although I cannot see how it would be profitable, on Friday, if you are a real, live girl, you can drink all night. Unfortunately, this means that I stopped counting my drinks.

Now, unlike some of my friends. I do not get drunk. Hardly ever. I would say perhaps 2-3 times per year max and out of those ONE time might result in really too much to drink, like last night.

I do not drink a lot for many reasons. I’m a control freak for one. I don’t like to throw up, which is often a result of drinking too much. I hate hangovers. I only drink vodka drinks and that means about 3200 extra calories from juice. It’s expensive. But most of all, I hate the next day. I don’t like being dehydrated and tired. I have feeling dizzy and queasy. The entire day is shot to shit and I’m a busy person. I can’t be lying on the couch all day watching TV. Esp. not now that I have less than a month to write this major section of the book. Yet, here I am, feeling like total ass. I almost strangled myself trying to get my necklace off last night. My pants are in the living room. I have a headache and my eyes hurt. I hate this. I ate some toast and now I’m going back to bed.

But when I get up, I have to work some more. Fortunately this work entails going to a new spa and spending some time getting a massage, facial and pedicure. Later I’ll work some more by eating in some fancy restaurant and checking out some nice hotels. My life is hard like that.

Since I got paid, with the fantastic exchange rate, I made like $1500 extra dollars which I am spending a big portion of on a new laptop that can actually handle having two programs open at once. This is VERY exciting for me because I’m not buying anything that doesn’t have 4gig of RAM which means considerable less grinding and whirring while I read a couple of chapters and the computer thinks about my last request.

Here are some more pics for you:

McCavity ain't missing no meals

McCavity ain't missing no meals.

Tamales in my town

Tamales in my town

Responses

  1. Great Fire Dancing Picture. Is that you or a club you went to? I wonder if that club that serves free drinks to ladies on Friday still exists!? Thanks for sharing!

  2. Thanks. It’s a friend of mine at a public performance in the park and yes, free drinks continue every Friday!


Leave a Reply

Categories

