Posted by: comfortjunkie | November 9, 2008

New Tattoo

I got my first tattoo on my 16th birthday at Tiger Jimmy’s in San Diego – as of this March, that will have been 20 years ago, so I’m pretty sure the statute of limitations on giving minors tattoos has run out. Clutching something ridiculous, like $25, I told him I wanted a wolf tattoo and then I picked one off the wall because when you are sixteen, you do stupid things.

Here’s the tattoo now:

old-tattoo1

It’s not a terrible tattoo but 20 years of sun and age haven’t done it any favors. I decided to have it covered with a mermaid, something I’ve been looking at and planning for about a year. Here is the stencil before we start work.

mapped-out

Now here is the finished result which I am quite happy with.

new-tattoo

I actually plan on stalking the artist of the original picture I brought it and sending him this. If you have some bored time at work, you should do a flickr search for “mermaid.” It brings up some amazing photos and drawings.

Now I have some real work to do and then it’s brunch!

Leave a Reply

Categories

